Glastonbury Festival 2014

Emerging Talent Competition longlist announced

7 March 2011

We are very pleased and excited to announce the 123 acts who've made it to the longlist of our 2011 Emerging Talent Competition. These acts have all been chosen by our blogger judging panel, made up of the UK's finest music bloggers - a massive thanks to them for all their hard work and to all of the acts who entered the competition (we were genuinely blown away by the response).

Each of the bloggers has chosen their favourite three acts, as listed below in the order we received them (where a blog has supplied more than one judge, the name of that judge is in brackets). Particular thanks to Dots and Dashes, Bitter Fingers and The Devil Has The Best Tuna who each judged an extra selection of bands after one judge pulled out. Those selections are the last ones on the list.

We've included the direct link that each of the acts provided for the judges to hear their music - and thoroughly recommend that you check some of them out. Several of the judges told us it was incredibly difficult to pick just three acts (and many of them wrote about more than three on their blogs).

Later this week, these acts will be narrowed down to a shortlist of just 8 acts who will compete at April's live finals for a main stage slot at this year's Festival. They will be chosen by the final judging panel which consists of the following 10 judges: Michael Eavis (Glastonbury organiser), Emily Eavis (Glastonbury organiser), Nick Dewey (main stages programmer), Martin Elbourne (main stages programmer), Malcolm Haynes (Dance Village programmer), Steve Symons (West Holts programmer), Philippa Aylott (Radio One producer), Angus Baskerville (live agent), Paul Charles (agent/promoter/manager) and Chris Salmon (music journalist).

Now, without further ado, here is the longlist:

Bitter Fingers
1. My First Tooth - http://soundcloud.com/myfirsttooth
2. Miracle Bell - http://breakingtunes.com/miraclebell
3. Films of Colour - http://www.filmsofcolour.com/filmsofcolour/home.html

Dots and Dashes
1. The Voyeurist - http://soundcloud.com/thevoyeurist
2. Kwes - http://soundcloud.com/kwes
3. Sketches - http://www.sketchesmusic.co.uk/index.php?/songs/

Breaking More Waves
1. Codes - http://www.codes.ie/press/
2. Leaving Atlantis - http://soundcloud.com/leavingatlantis
3. Temper The Wolves - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeWFGuNK9QA

4fortyfour
1. Laurie Cameron - http://www.lauriecameron.co.uk/image/22265
2. Elliott Morris - www.youtube.com/elliottmorrisguitar
3. The Little Unsaid - http://thelittleunsaid.bandcamp.com/

Anika in London
1. Blood Oranges - www.soundcloud.com/blood-oranges
2. Paper Aeroplanes - http://www.facebook.com/paperaeroplanesmusic#!/paperaeroplanesmusic?v=app_178091127385
3. Dan Leno - www.myspace.com/mutleymelodies

For Folks Sake (Helen)
1. Kamal Arafa and the Moonlight Band - http://kamalarafa.co.uk/page3.html
2. EleventyFour - http://soundcloud.com/eleventyfour
3. Marika Hackman - http://soundcloud.com/marika-hackman

Black Plastic
1. Encounters - http://www.myspace.com/encountersbande
2. Run Toto Run - http://www.myspace.com/runtotomusic
3. After After Hours - http://soundcloud.com/after-after-hours

The Devil Has The Best Tuna
1. Furta Sacra - http://www.myspace.com/furtasacra
2. The Kindling - http://thekindling.bandcamp.com/
3. The Longsands - http://www.myspace.com/thelongsands

For Folks Sake (Ian)
1. Gibson Bull - www.myspace.com/gibsonbull
2. Grace Petrie - http://music.gracepetrie.com/album/tell-me-a-story
3. Holly Taymar - http://soundcloud.com/holly_taymar/beautiful-days

Hotcakes (Sim)
1. Brave Little Note - http://soundcloud.com/jack-7-2/our-romantic-horticulture-1
2. YULT - http://yult.bandcamp.com/album/the-animal-inside
3. Subsource - http://www.youtube.com/user/subsource

Song by Toad

1. Freeway Jesus - http://www.reverbnation.com/freewayjesus
2. Effort - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cl2MKhqa3ZI
3. Perhaps Contraption - http://perhapscontraption.bandcamp.com/album/business

Real horrorshow tunes
1. Honour Before Glory - http://soundcloud.com/honourbeforeglory/maison
2. Holy State - http://www.myspace.com/holystate
3. House of Commoners - http://soundcloud.com/ninth-letta/strange-things

Fucking Dance
1. Dems - http://dems.bandcamp.com
2. Sun Drums - www.sundrums.co.uk/music
3. Yodashe - http://www.last.fm/music/yodashe

Crack in the Road
1. Evryone - http://www.myspace.com/isevryone
2. The Wild Mercury Sound - http://www.myspace.com/thewildmercurysound
3. Patterns - http://www.pullyourselftogetherzine.co.uk/2010/12/patterns-new-noise-ep-out-now.html

Pigeon Post

1. Spotlight Kid - www.myspace.com/spotlightkidsound
2. Hystoic Vein - http://www.myspace.com/hystoicvein
3. The Dacoits - www.thedacoits.co.uk

For Folks Sake (Lois)
1. Laura Hocking & The Long Goodbye - http://soundcloud.com/laurahocking
2. Tristram - http://www.myspace.com/tristramsongs
3. The Fictive Kinship - http://www.myspace.com/thefictivekinship

Flying With Anna

1. Graffiti6 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAEzItpj-Ic
2. Brother and Bones - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynqZEwBfwvI
3. Fox Jaw Bounty Hunters - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0u_Rj6uahnM

Hot Cakes (Joseph)
1. Datadrip - www.breakingtunes.com/datadrip
2. The Evil Beat - http://www.vimeo.com/15326499
3. Soundproof - www.sonicbids.com/soundproof5

Cats Band Crushes
1. The Greeting Committee - http://vimeo.com/18842213
2. Presuming Ed - http://www.myspace.com/presumingeduk
3. A Boy Called Doris - http://soundcloud.com/a-boy-called-doris/tracks

Transparent

1. Milk Maid - http://www.myspace.com/milkmaidmilkmaid
2. Kool Thing - http://www.myspace.com/koolthingband
3. Speak Galactic  - http://soundcloud.com/speakgalactic

This Music Wins
1. Twin Brother - http://www.myspace.com/twinbrotheruk
2. Troy Gunner - http://soundcloud.com/troygunner
3. Napoleon IIIrd - http://www.myspace.com/napoleoniiird

Moleskin 90
1. Thai matic - http://www.thaimatic.bandcamp.com
2. J-Treole - http://www.soundcloud.com/j-treole
3. Context MC - http://contextmc.bandcamp.com

What's the ruckus

1. Larssen B - www.myspace.com/wearelarsenb
2. Edinburgh School For The Deaf - http://edinburghschoolforthedeaf.bandcamp.com/
3. Niteflights - http://www.myspace.com/niteflightsmusic

Music Liberation
1. Wounds - www.myspace.com/thewoundsband
2. Vetoes - http://soundcloud.com/vetoes
3. Hysterical Injury - http://soundcloud.com/hysterical-injury

Bass Music
1. L.A.C. (London Afrobeat Collective) - www.lacband.co.uk/releases/
2. Butterfly Explosion - http://www.myspace.com/butterflyexplosion
3. Orchestra Elastique - www.myspace.com/orchestraelastique

The Chemistry is Dead

1. Kal - http://soundcloud.com/julius-2
2. Natomic - http://www.myspace.com/natomic1
3. Halcyon - http://www.myspace.com/halcyon2011

17 Seconds
1. Matt Norris and the Monn - www.myspace.com/mattnorrismusic
2. The Day I Snapped.- http://soundcloud.com/user8841764
3. Zombie Computer - www.breakingtunes.com/zombiecomputer

Battery in your leg
1. Danny Mahon - http://www.myspace.com/dannymahon
2. -The Pins-  http://www.myspace.com/thepinsloveyou
3. Kelli Blanchett - http://www.myspace.com/kelliblanchett

Swear I'm Not Paul
1. Colenso Parade - http://www.myspace.com/colensoparade
2. Midnight Mile - http://midnightmile.bandcamp.com/album/silence-brings-the-morning
3. Revere - http://www.myspace.com/reverelondon

When You Awake
1. Treetop Flyers - http://soundcloud.com/tofunice/this-storm-will-pass
2. Freddie Dickson - http://www.myspace.com/freddiedicksonmusic
3. Zacc Rogers - http://www.myspace.com/zaccrogers

For Folks Sake (Lynn)
1. Rosie Doonan - http://www.myspace.com/rosiedoonan/music
2. I Said Yes - www.myspace.com/ofcourseisaidyes
3. Goodnight Lenin - www.goodnightlenin.com

Put Me On It
1. 12tone Brass Band - http://www.youtube.com/user/12tonetv#p/u/6/dfwxu-P8aKk
2. My Tiger My Timing - http://www.myspace.com/mytigermytiming
3. Fidel And The Castros - www.myspace.com/fidelandthecastros

Illegal Tender
1. Laura Doggett - http://www.myspace.com/DoggettStylee
2. Laura Williams - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IjQliyDwEtM
3. Loveable Rogues - http://www.youtube.com/loveablerogues

Music like Dirt
1. The Last Dinosaur - http://soundcloud.com/thelastdinosaur/sets/dinosampler/
2. Golden Glow - http://www.myspace.com/goldenglowmusic
3. One Man Team Dance - www.myspace.com/onemanteamdance

The Music Journal
1. The Dufflefolks - www.myspace.com/thedufflefolks
2. Control-S - http://soundcloud.com/control-s
3. Tomorrow We Sail - http://tomorrowwesail.bandcamp.com/releases

We Write Lists

1. The Sunshine Theory - http://thesunshinetheory.bandcamp.com/
2. The Fallen Drakes - http://thefallendrakes.bandcamp.com/
3. Lund Quartet - http://www.lundquartet.com/audio.html

The Liminal
1. City Seventeen - http://vimeo.com/album/256392
2. Gold Thing - www.youtube.com/alexagoulding
3. Munch Munch - www.myspace.com/munchmunchband

Wears The Trousers

1. Emily & The Woods - www.myspace.com/emilyswoodmusic
2. Becca & The Broken Biscuits - http://www.myspace.com/beccawilliamsmusic
3. Pocket Satellite - http://www.myspace.com/pocketsatellite

Faded Glamour
1. Boy Mandeville - http://boymandeville.com/#music
2. Abe - http://www.myspace.com/abeuk
3. Bear Response Team - www.myspace.com/bearresponseteam

Dummy
1. Dan Haigh - http://soundcloud.com/dan-haigh/new-years-party-mix-2010-plumes
2. Tainted Orange - http://www.myspace.com/taintedorange
3. The Android Angel - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkgLOGrIhe4

Bloggers Utd
1. 52 Commercial Road - http://52commercialroad1.bandcamp.com/
2. Sunbirds - http://www.myspace.com/sunbirds
3. Wildlife - www.soundcloud.com/wildlife-band